WHAT ARE OSHA 10 requirements?

OSHA 10 Hours
OSHA 10 requirements are the training standards for workers.

OSHA 10 requirements are the training standards for workers who are involved in certain hazardous occupations. The OSHA 10-hour course is designed to provide basic awareness and prevention on recognizing and preventing hazards in the workplace. Here are some of the main topics covered by the OSHA 10 requirements:

Introduction to OSHA

This section introduces the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), its mission, history, and authority. It also explains the rights and responsibilities of employers and employees under the OSH Act, and how to file a complaint or report a hazard to OSHA.

General Safety and Health Provisions

General Safety and Health Provisions. This section covers the general safety and health rules that apply to all construction workers, such as housekeeping, fire protection, personal protective equipment, and sanitation.

Fall Protection

This section covers the hazards and prevention of falls from heights, such as ladders, scaffolds, roofs, and stairs. It also explains the requirements for fall protection systems, such as guardrails, safety nets, and personal fall arrest systems.

Electrical Safety

This section covers the hazards and prevention of electrical shocks, burns, fires, and explosions. It also explains the requirements for electrical equipment, wiring, grounding, and lockout/tagout procedures.

Struck-By and Caught-In or -Between Hazards

This section covers the hazards and prevention of being struck by or caught in or between objects, such as vehicles, cranes, tools, and materials. It also explains the requirements for traffic control, signs, signals, barricades, and protective clothing.

Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)

This section covers the types and uses of personal protective equipment (PPE), such as gloves, goggles, helmets, respirators, and hearing protection. It also explains how to select, wear, maintain, and store PPE properly.

Health Hazards in Construction

This section covers the health hazards that may be encountered in construction work, such as asbestos, lead, silica, noise, and heat stress. It also explains how to recognize, evaluate, and control these hazards using engineering controls, administrative controls, and PPE.

Other Topics

Depending on the specific industry and job site, there may be other topics that are relevant for the OSHA 10-hour course. Some examples are:

  • Cranes and Rigging
  • Excavations
  • Scaffolds
  • Stairways and Ladders
  • Hand and Power Tools
  • Welding and Cutting
  • Concrete and Masonry
  • Steel Erection

The OSHA 10-hour course is a voluntary program that does not meet the training requirements for any OSHA standards. However, some states, municipalities, or employers may require workers to complete this course as a condition of employment. To find out more about the OSHA 10-hour course or to locate an authorized trainer near you, you can visit the OSHA Training Program website.


Is there a test at the end of an OSHA 10 course?

Yes, there is a test at the end of an OSHA 10 course. According to the web search results, when you take an OSHA Outreach course, you must pass an OSHA quiz at the end of each lesson. Each OSHA 10 quiz is like a safety practice test on the material for that part of the course. They prepare you for the comprehensive OSHA 10 test that you need to pass at the end to get your DOL card. The final test consists of 40 questions, and you need to score at least 70% to pass. You can find some practice OSHA 10 questions and answers online to help you prepare for the test.

Can I take an online course to renew my OSHA card?

Yes, you can take an online course to renew your OSHA card. According to the web search results, there are many authorized providers that offer online OSHA 10 and 30 courses for various industries, such as construction, general industry, maritime, and disaster site workers. However, you should be aware that OSHA does not require you to renew your OSHA card, unless you work in the maritime industry, where you need to renew your card every five years. Also, taking an online course does not guarantee employment or compliance with OSHA standards. Therefore, you should check with your employer or local authority if they have any specific requirements for OSHA training.

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top